Lycée des métiers Aristide Briand
Un lycée des services à la personne et de la relation client

A few facts about Europe

jeudi 1er avril 2010, par Bourgoise Vincent

  • In 1951, the European Coal and Steel Community was created by six countries which were  :

- France

- Belgium

- West Germany

- Italy

- Luxembourg

- The Netherlands

  • In 1957, the Treaty of Rome was signed and it was the creation of the European Economic Community (EEC)
  • The Europeen Union ( E.U) was created in 1993 thanks to the Treaty of Maastricht.
  • There are 27 member states in the E.U.
  • The European flag is blue with yellow stars.
  • The motto of the E.U is United in diversity.
  • There are 2 meeting places as far as the European Parliament is concerned : Strasbourg in France and Brussels in Belgium.
  • The Euro is the concurrency used in the E.U but only 16 countries are part of the eurozone.For example the United Kingdom and Poland don’t use the euro but their own currency.
  • Europe Day is on May 9th.


Un lycée des services à la personne et de la relation client Lycée des métiers Aristide Briand – 7 cours Aristide Briand - 84100 ORANGE – Responsable de publication : A.-M. Gleyze, proviseur.
Dernière mise à jour : jeudi 8 avril 2021 – Tous droits réservés © 2008-2021, Académie d'Aix-Marseille